Find out how to Order Vegan at Subway: A Sandwich Lover's Information

There are extra Subways on this planet than every other restaurant. That is comforting in the truth that irrespective of the place you’re, it’s very probably there’s a sub store close by with loads of vegan choices. We dove into the menus across the globe to search out all of the vegan choices—from the usual Veggie Delite to the vegan-friendly regional specialties. Use this information to be taught what’s vegan (hi there, Candy Onion Sauce) and what’s surprisingly not (keep away from the 9-Grain wheat bread) earlier than you place your subsequent Subway order. 

What’s vegan at Subway?

Whereas mainstream fast-food chains resembling Burger King and Carl’s Jr. have added vegan-friendly handhelds to their everlasting menus, Subway is but to unveil a everlasting, plant-based providing nationwide.


In 2019, the chain made headlines when it launched Past Meatball subs throughout the US and Canada. The joy was in the end brief lived, because the sub has but to reappear on US menus. Fortunately, two years later, Subway dedicated to growing extra vegan choices after the chain confronted controversy surrounding its tuna—which a lawsuit claimed was in truth a “combination of assorted concoctions […] comprised of something however tuna.”

Vegan choices at Subway

Whereas we watch for extra vegan choices to land on Subway’s menu, try these plant-based choices that can assist you construct the last word sub. Vegans, beware: search sustenance elsewhere through the A.M. hours. There are not any vegan breakfast choices at this sandwich store. 


1 Bread

At Subway, it begins with bread. The one vegan choice accessible throughout all places is the Artisan Italian (white), although the chain carries different plant-based bread choices that fluctuate by area. These embody Hearty Multigrain and Sourdough. Each the tomato basil and spinach wraps are animal-free as nicely. 


2 Condiments

The condiments at Subway can remodel a somewhat bland sandwich right into a handhold you’ll truly get pleasure from. Vegan-friendly choices embody:

  • Buffalo sauce
  • Mustard 
  • Oil 
  • Pink Wine Vinegar
  • Candy Onion Teriyaki
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt  

The choices develop much more when wanting on the regional selection. Your native sub store may carry any of the next vegan-friendly sauces and spreads:

  • Barbecue sauce
  • Creamy Italian
  • Fireplace-roasted Tomato Sauce
  • Giardiniera
  • Golden Italian
  • Scorching pepper relish
  • Ketchup
  • Candy chili sauce


3 Sandwiches and wraps

At any Subway, vegans can at all times rely upon the Veggie Delite. Make your sandwich substantial by piling on as many greens as you want (banana peppers, black olives, peppers, onions, cucumbers, lettuce, tomato, pickles, spinach, and jalapeños) and amp up the flavour with Subway’s vegan-friendly condiments. Past this vegetable-loaded sandwich, the chain provides a brand new Veggie Patty that’s appropriate for vegans per the chain’s up to date menu pointers. Honest warning: within the US, the newly plant-based patty isn’t accessible in any respect places. Internationally, the Veggie Patty is appropriate for vegans in Canada.


4 Salads

The vegan salad at Subway is basically a breadless Veggie Delight served in a bowl. In case your native store provides the Veggie Patty, we extremely counsel including this to make your salad extra substantial. Ask your sandwich artist to load up on the veggies and don’t skimp on the guac. Any of the vegan condiments listed above can be utilized as a dressing. 


5 Sides 

Subway carries a wide range of Lay’s model chips and GoGo Squeez squeezable applesauce to complement its vegan patrons’ meals. Simply be sure you keep away from the cheese-flavored Doritos and Sunchips. And sadly, the cookies are usually not vegan. 

For extra vegan fast-food guides, learn: